BurdaStyle August 2011

originally published July 30 2011

 

.It seems that everyone has their favorite Burda Issue.  It’s the issue that you return to again and again, making garment after garment from it’s pages.  Eventually you realize that you’ve made nearly everything that Burda showed, even if you did it your way.   I think August 2011 is going to be that issue for me.  I even found something in the kids section that I’d like to make.

 

I probably won’t make any of the skirts.  The few skirts and dresses I’ve made aren’t worn very much. So although i like the styling this issue has to offer in skirts and would like to make at least one of them, I probably won’t.

 

And I’m not too sure about Trouser 115 with the ruffles.  Maybe if I made it 4 sizes too small, in a knit fabric and called it pajamas??? But I do believe that I can easily adapt the details for 130 and 137 to my own nicely fitted trouser pattern.  I’m not sure about all the buttons on 130.  I seem to recall having had a similar pair years ago.  I seem to remember being very annoyed with the amount of time and effort required to unfasten before being able to “go”.

 

Actually I think the first project will be 104.

104 is a simple tank styled top with low U front and back necklines. For some reason not immediately clear to me, Burda has you installing an invisible side zip.  I dislike side zips. If I absolutely had to use a zip, it would be a back zip.  However, I’m a proponent of being able to dress myself.  If extra opening is required (with that low of a neck??), I will create a back slit with a button at the top. A closure I can manage without DH’s assistance.  I’m perplexed about the zip.  The fabric recommended is crepe; a non-stretch crepe i.e. this pattern is drafted for woven fabrics.  This pattern also includes the all-important-to-me bust dart.  But no other visible shaping.  Both the side seams appear to be straight.  I thought there might be a side vent at the hem. But the instruction make no mention of such a design feature. I mean, I see nothing that would preclude me from pulling this off and on over my head. I see no need for an additional opening.

 

If you’ve read my blog at all the last few weeks, you might assume I’m continuing my “bender” on tank tops. But truth is, this pattern just happens to look like it would work very nicely with this Anthropology top:

Truly, I fell in love with this top and all the lace.  The lace appears to continue up the shoulder and onto the back, becoming the support for the garment.  I rather wonder if that would work.  I’m much more confident that covering the very narrow shoulder straps of 104 with lace would give the same appearance, but much better support than lace alone.  Whatever garments I make must be able to survive a little abuse. At least that of going through the laundry. I don’t dry clean clothes.  I believe I’ve mentioned this before.  There is no dry cleaner in my town.  What we do, is drop our clothes off at the local pheasant processor.  He calls some place in Nebraska (about 30 miles south of us)  When they have enough calls the place in Nebraska makes a run and picks up cleaning.  When they have enough calls, they bring the previous load back.  Dry cleaning is not something to be undertaken lightly.  You’ve got to really want the items cleaned in that fashion and be willing to wait a month or two.

 

I’ve already picked out my fabric, a yellow rayon crepe.  And I was shocked to find a very similar lace in my collection of 100,000 embroidery files:

 

No not exactly the same. But the over all shape is suggestive of the lace used in the inspiration garment.

See how 3 look when lined up together

 

Right now, I’m testing embroidery threads to see which of my 300 spools of embroidery thread match most closely with the yellow crepe.  I’m afraid that the spool which works the best, is the spool that’s nearly empty.  In which case this project will be delayed a week or so.  I buy my threads online.  There are things I love about living in the back woods.  The delay caused when I need supplies is not one of them. It’s one of the reasons I have 300 spools of embroidery thread. So I’ll need to consider another project while waiting for the desired supplies.

 

How about this one 126:

 

OK granted this is a dress and I said I wouldn’t be making dresses, but I’d love to see it as a blouse.  I’ll probably add just a bit of ease across the waist and hip – making it more blouse like.  I do realize that it opens all the way to the tummy.  I have several thoughts.  One is using the front of 104 to make a Tshirt front and attaching inside to the side seams.  A second idea would be creating a lace insert.  A third would be, raising that damn neckline to where it should have been to start with!

 

I also adore dress 116

 

Now, I do have a Butterick pattern that is similar. Similar but not the same.  I love the pockets and the cowl neckline. To get the pockets, I’d probably make this tunic length.

 

Having overcome my fear of raglans I’m wondering what I would need to do to support the collar for 119:

 

Again, I’d make this blouse length. Just jettison the skirt portions and extend the top to a suitable length.

 

I’m also liking 125.

 

I admit to being intrigued by the fabric gobbling tie collar. But I’m also interested in the princess seams and extended shoulder.  An extended shoulder that’s proportioned to my body does look nice.

 

OK no point in listing all the patterns in the magazine to make my point. Which is:  I love this issue. I love the styles and the fabrics that they chosen.  I’m a little concerned sometimes.  Like why do I need a size zipper for 104 and not mentioned earlier, but those pants 13?  Well the shorts recommend a corduroy fabric while the full length trousers call for a knit.  That can’t be right.  I just can’t see that a firmly woven fabric would fit the same as a knit.  Just don’t see it.  All I can say is stay tuned to see what I actually get done.

Comment?

